Utah Sex Crime Defense Team
Being accused of committing a sex crime is stressful and worrisome. You’ve researched what happens to those who have been convicted of sex crime charges and found that it ranges from jail time to life in prison. And after you get out of prison, you could be placed on a sex offender registry, and consequently, have trouble finding work or applying for social services. How are you supposed to live a normal life with a sex crime on your record?
Though you’re understandably upset, we can assist you with your sex crime charges. As top sex crimes lawyers in Salt Lake City, we can work with you to fight your charges and hopefully get you back on track with your life. Because sex crime charges are serious, our team will travel anywhere in Utah to defend you.
If you are being charged with a sex crime in any of the following areas, make sure you contact Conyers & Nix today.
Conyers & Nix Sex Crime Practice Areas
Sexual Battery Related Charges
Sexual battery involves intentionally touching someone’s private areas in a way that would cause that person to become alarmed. It is an all-encompassing category that includes any unwanted and unwelcome touch and it’s a class A misdemeanor in Utah. If convicted, you could go to jail and have to pay up to $2,500 in fines. When you approach Conyers & Nix with details about your sexual battery allegations, we’ll come up with a strategy to combat your charges.
Charged with sexual battery? Don’t speak to the police and reach out now.
Rape Defense Attorneys
Rape occurs when one person forces sexual intercourse on another person without their permission. Even if you’re married to the person, you can still be charged with rape. In Utah, it’s a first-degree felony and you can go to prison for five years to life if convicted. Our goal at Conyers & Nix is to achieve an optimal outcome. Though we can’t promise your case will turn out exactly how you’d like, we will assert ourselves inside and outside of the courtroom for you.
If you are charged with rape and need legal representation, we are here for you at any time. Click here to schedule a meeting.
What is A Lewdness Charge in Utah?
Lewdness involves doing sexual acts in public, and it’s punishable with up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If there’s a child involved, lewdness increases goes from a class B misdemeanor to a class A misdemeanor or even a third-degree felony if you already have a sex crime like lewdness or any other crime on your record.
If you’re facing lewdness charges, we’re here for you, so get in touch with us to learn how we can help.
Forcible Sexual Abuse Charges
Forcible sexual abuse occurs when one person touches another person’s private areas with the intent to arouse or gratify their sexual desires and/or cause substantial bodily or emotional pain. The person must be 14 years of age or older when it happens. This type of charge is always a felony, and you could go to jail for five years to life if convicted. If you reach out about your forcible sexual abuse case, we’ll collect the facts from you and attempt to fight your charges in court instead of pleading out.
To find out more about how we can assist you, contact us now.
Facing Sodomy Charges?
Forcible sodomy, in which one person forces sodomy upon another person, is a first-degree felony in Utah. You could go to prison for five years to life if convicted. If you’re being charged with forcible sodomy, you can call Conyers & Nix with information about your case, and we’ll figure out a strategy to try and achieve an ideal outcome.
If you need help with your sodomy charges, contact us now.
Revenge Porn & Distributing Photos Without Consent
Anyone who distributes intimate photos of another person online without that person’s consent, and there is an intention to cause emotional distress or harm, could be charged with revenge porn. It could be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the situation.
To determine whether or not we can help you with your revenge porn case, call or email us.
What Is a “Voyeurism” Crime in Utah?
Voyeurism involves looking at a part of someone’s body when they thought they had privacy. For instance, you could be charged with voyeurism if you look through someone’s bedroom window while they are getting dressed. It could also involve recording a person who thought they had privacy. It could be classified as a misdemeanor or get bumped up to a felony charge if the person being watched or recorded was under 14 years of age.
If you are facing voyeurism charges, we can assist you with your upcoming court appearance. Contact us to get started.
Sexual Abuse of a Minor
According to Utah law, a child is under 14 years of age and an adult is 18 years of age or older. Sexual abuse of a child can range from inappropriately touching a child to taking indecent liberties with them, and it’s classified as a second-degree felony. This means that a convicted person could serve one to 15 years in prison and have to pay fines of up to $10,000. When you reach out to Conyers & Nix, we’ll learn about your case and give you guidance on how best to proceed in the courtroom and outside of it.
For help with your sexual abuse of a minor case, click here.
Sexual Conduct of a Minor
Sexual conduct of a minor in Utah involves having sexual relations with someone who is 16- or 17-years-old. It not only includes sex but touching as well. Depending on the circumstances, it can be a misdemeanor or a felony.
Can Utah Sex Crimes Be Expunged?
Expungement within Utah’s judicial system refers to making your criminal record invisible to the general public. Expungement of sex crimes is available only in highly specific situations. An expungement can help you avoid the serious social consequences that accompany criminal convictions, including:
- Experiencing fewer job opportunities
- Losing professional licensure
- Having difficulty renting a house or apartment
- Experiencing fewer educational opportunities
- Experiencing a lower standing in the community
With expungement, you will not have to worry that a prospective employer, a landlord, your peers, or other social connections will obtain access to your criminal record from government sources. Further, you will be able to say that you have no convictions on your record.
Though your government record is sealed, it does not mean that an expungement will wipe your conviction from the media and other non-government sources. These outlets will still be available to employers and other social connections regardless of an approved expungement.
Your Sex Conviction
While some sexually-based convictions are eligible for expungement, first-degree felony convictions and convictions that require registration on the Utah Sex Offender Registry are not eligible. However, under specific circumstances, you may be eligible for a pardon.
In order to petition for an expungement of a sex crime conviction, you will need to complete every condition of your sentence, obtain a Certificate of Eligibility from the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification, and satisfy the following waiting periods:
- 7 years for a second- or third-degree felony conviction
- 5 years for a Class A misdemeanor
- 4 years for a Class B misdemeanor
- 3 years for a Class C misdemeanor
When specific requirements are met, it is usually possible to expunge juvenile sexually-based convictions.
Working With Conyers & Nix
We are experienced criminal defense lawyers in Salt Lake City who are known for fighting for our clients no matter what. As a team, we have served thousands of clients and dealt with cases with unique facts, strategies, and outcomes. We’re fully prepared to represent you and help with your sex crime charges.
Throughout our journey together, we’ll always be open and transparent so that you can participate in your case as much – or as little – as you’d like.
To learn more about what we can offer you during this time, contact us today. You don’t have to stress, because we’ll get back to you in 24 hours or less.
We look forward to hearing from you.