If you are facing drug charges, you must have an aggressive Salt Lake City drug defense attorney by your side. The attorneys at Conyers & Nix will explain the entire process to you. Drug charges are severe and can lead to convictions with long jail sentences and high fines and fees.
Enhanced penalties may also apply, depending on the facts surrounding your charges and whether you have prior drug-related convictions. Further, the drug crime penalties in Utah are complex. Drug classifications, amounts of the drug in question, and enhancements make navigating these cases exceptionally challenging. Some examples of this include:
- Possession of drugs like MDMA and other party drugs is a class A misdemeanor—when it’s your first offense.
- Almost any drug conviction will also carry a driver’s license suspension for six months—something few people are aware of.
- If you are convicted of possessing drug paraphernalia—even a small pipe—you may face the same penalties as you would for a marijuana conviction.
- If you have two prior convictions for drug possession—including very small amounts—your third charge could result in a third-degree felony. If convicted, you could spend up to five years in prison for a small amount of drugs.
While many drug charges can be beaten, you need a highly skilled Salt Lake City drug defense attorney from Conyers & Nix to fight your case. We know precisely how to challenge the evidence against you and thoroughly investigate to find evidence that works in your favor. If your constitutional rights were violated during your stop or arrest, we will work hard to get an acquittal or dismissal of your charges or, at a minimum, get the charges reduced.
Conyers & Nix: Experienced Salt Lake City Drug Crime Attorneys
If you are charged with a crime for violating Utah’s drug laws, you’re likely anxious about what this could mean for your future. Will drug crimes go on your public record for the rest of your life? Are you going to be able to keep your job? Will you have to pay fines or go to jail? An experienced Salt Lake City drug defense attorney from Conyers & Nix can answer all your questions.
If you have questions about your charge that you need to be answered, we’re here to help. We are an experienced Salt Lake City criminal defense team, and we’ve assisted thousands of clients with different cases. No matter what the circumstances are surrounding your drug charge, we’re prepared to fight for you inside and outside of the courtroom.
Which Drug Crimes Can a Salt Lake City Drug Defense Attorney Help With?
- Drug Possession—Drug possession is the least serious of these three crimes, but it can still be very serious, carrying jail or prison time. Possession of less than an ounce of marijuana will be charged as a Class B misdemeanor, with the potential for up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. Possession of up to 16 ounces of marijuana is considered a Class A misdemeanor, with the potential for a sentence of up to a year in jail and a fine as large as $5,000. Possession of certain other controlled substances, as well as possession of false or forged prescriptions, may be charged as Class A misdemeanors.
- Drug Distribution—Utah makes no distinction between the crime of drug distribution and possession with the intent to distribute. Possession turns to distribution when police believe the drugs were not for your personal use and that you were selling or distributing illegal drugs. Both possession with intent to distribute and drug distribution are charged as a second-degree felony with the potential for up to fifteen years in prison and a fine as large as $20,000. Distribution of marijuana is charged as a third-degree felony with a potential penalty of up to five years in prison. Distribution of drugs does not simply mean distribution to dealers. Rather it encompasses anyone who “shares, gives, or otherwise provides” drugs to another person. If the distribution takes place in a drug-free zone (like a school zone), the charges may be increased to a first-degree felony which is punishable by up to life in prison and a fine as large as $20,000.
- Drug Manufacturing/Production—Drug manufacturing and production generally refers to the cultivation of marijuana or the production of other chemical substances in a lab. It is important to know that not only are these severe charges in Utah, but you could also be charged federally for these crimes. Federal sentencing is much harsher than state-level sentencing. If you have been charged with such a serious criminal offense, you need to speak to a skilled Salt Lake City drug defense attorney from Conyers & Nix as quickly as possible.
Conyers & Nix Drug Crime Defense Services
Driving With Measurable Controlled Substance (DMCS)
DMCS means that someone was driving with the chemical leftovers (metabolite) of a controlled substance in their body. For instance, if someone was driving while smoking marijuana that would be a different charge than someone who had smoked and then hopped behind the wheel of their car. DMCS is a class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to six months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
When you contact Conyers & Nix, we’ll ask you about everything that happened when a police officer pulled you over to see if procedures were lawful and correct. If they weren’t, we could use that in your court case to your advantage. Contact us now with the details and we’ll let you know our strategy.
Possession of Drugs With An Intent to Distribute
Distributing drugs is such a serious crime that even possession with intent to distribute will land someone a second-degree felony, which can result in a one to fifteen-year prison term and up to $10,000 in fines in Utah.
If you’ve are charged with possession with intent to distribute but you believe that these charges are not correct, then you reach out to our team, we are top criminal defense lawyers and prepared to fight for you.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
Possessing drug paraphernalia is a class B misdemeanor, and someone who is convicted of it could spend up to six months in jail and face a fine of up to $1,000. Essentially, Utah law dictates that drug paraphernalia is an item you could use to cultivate, ingest, inhale, inject, or store drugs. If an adult over 18 delivers paraphernalia to someone who is under 18 years of age they could be convicted of a third-degree felony, which means possibly going to jail for up to five years and paying a fine of up to $5,000.
Getting charged with possessing drug paraphernalia is worrisome if you aren’t sure what to do. Don’t worry: Conyers & Nix is here for you, so reach out to us with your questions and concerns.
Possession of Marijuana
Unlike in other states around it, recreational use in Utah is still illegal. In order to use it or possess it, you need to have a legitimate medical reason. The amount of marijuana someone possesses – as well as what they intend to do with it – will determine how they are charged. For instance, if they possess less than one ounce of it, it’s a class B misdemeanor and they could have to go to jail for up to six months and pay a fine of up to $1,000. If they possess more than 100 pounds, they could be facing second-degree felony charges, which means they may have to go to jail for one to 15 years and pay a fine of up to $10,000.
Possession of a Controlled Substance
Possession of a controlled substance refers to any drugs that a person is legally not allowed to have. It could include possession of cocaine, heroin, meth, MDMA, Molly, Ecstasy, ketamine, psilocybin mushrooms, LSD, or other illegal drugs. Depending on the circumstances surrounding a case, charges could be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony.
Why Work with a Salt Lake City Drug Defense Attorney From Conyers & Nix?
At Conyers & Nix, we never take the easy road. We fight for all of our clients, no matter what kinds of drug charges they are up against. We go over the details of every single case with our clients to see if we have any legal leverage. Most of the time, we choose to fight cases in the courtroom instead of pleading out. We only reach plea deals when we feel they are the best option for our clients.
As soon as you contact us, we will get back to you within 24 hours or less. And then as we work together, we’ll keep you updated on your case and give you the information you need to stay in the loop. We’ll remind you of upcoming court dates and locations and appear with you in court when needed.
What are you waiting for? If you’re facing drug charges, get in touch with us today to schedule your initial consultation. Remember to email us the details of the alleged incident, the date it allegedly occurred, and the location of your upcoming court appearance, if you have one.
Contact an Experienced Salt Lake City Drug Defense Attorney from Conyers & Nix Today
No matter what drug charges you are facing, the attorneys at Conyers & Nix will fight for you. In many cases, it is better to go to trial, particularly if the prosecutor simply does not want to negotiate a plea deal. Our legal team will update you on your case’s progress and will get back to you to answer any questions you might have within 24 hours. Facing drug charges on your own is frightening, so make sure you have a solid legal advocate in your corner from Conyers & Nix.