About Utah DUI
Utah has the strictest drunk driving laws in the nation, with a legal limit of 0.05 BAC versus 0.08 for the rest of the country. Spirits and wine are only sold at state-run liquor stores, bartenders must use specialized spouts to ensure precise amounts of liquor in mixed drinks, and you can only order one alcoholic drink at a time (per person). An ad campaign by the American Beverage Institute warns visitors to the state, “Come for vacation, leave on probation.”
Depending on your height, weight, and gender, having one or two beers or mixed drinks can put you over 0.05 percent BAC. The penalties for those convicted of DUI are harsh and can follow you for many years. If you have been charged with a Utah DUI, you must speak to a knowledgeable West Jordan DUI attorney from Conyers & Nix as quickly as possible. Doing so can significantly impact the outcome of your DUI charges.
Why Choose a West Jordan DUI Attorney from Conyers & Nix?
The attorneys at Conyers & Nix will help you keep your driving privileges and minimize the consequences of your criminal DUI case. We are fierce negotiators who never accept a first plea offer. We aim to get your case dismissed, negotiate the best possible plea for you, or win at trial. We will never accept a plea because it is easy, and we will never do anything that is not in your best interest.
We will stand up to prosecutors who are more interested in convictions than justice. If you decide to accept a plea deal, our focus at sentencing will be rehabilitation, not retribution. Throughout the process, we will remind you that there will be a moment when the entire DUI experience will be behind you. At Conyers & Nix, we listen more than we talk, empathizing with your situation in a non-judgmental manner.
West Jordan, Utah
West Jordan is a suburb of Salt Lake City, with a population of approximately 117,000. Residents and visitors alike will delight in exploring Conservation Garden Park which is dedicated to preserving water in the state. Waterwise plants and natural beauty reward those who visit. The West Jordan Historical Museum is another favorite, housed in a traditional Utah homestead in the center of the city’s main park. Visitors will see blacksmith and granary buildings, along with a period soda fountain that was the first in West Jordan.
For those seeking nostalgia, a Saltaire carousel horse rounds out the visit. Perhaps the most well-known aspect of West Jordan is the Kennecott Copper Mine on the outskirts of the city, in the eastern foothills of the Oquirrh Mountains. Kennecott remains one of the top mines in the entire world, even after producing more than 20 million tons of refined copper ore since opening in 1903.
The peace and raw beauty of West Jordan can be temporarily clouded by DUI charges. If you are facing DUI charges, attorneys Kate Conyers and Jesse Nix are ready to help you through this difficult time.
What DUI Crimes Do Conyers & Nix Handle?
There are many different DUI crimes in Utah. At Conyers & Nix, we can help you with all of the following:
- The Utah Driver License Hearing—You must file an appeal with the Utah Driver License Division within ten days of your DUI arrest. If you fail to file this appeal, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended 30 days after your arrest. Your appeal hearing will occur during those 30 days. At this hearing, the hearing officer will determine whether the officer had grounds to believe you were in actual physical control of the vehicle, whether you refused the breathalyzer or blood test, whether you were properly warned of the consequences of refusing, and whether your BAC exceeds 0.05. The police officer must appear at this hearing, and your license will not be suspended if they fail to appear.
- Underage Drinking—If you are under the age of 21, you cannot purchase or drink alcohol or ask another person to purchase alcohol for you.
- Open Container Violations—You cannot drive with an open container of alcohol in the passenger area of your vehicle. You could be charged with a Class C misdemeanor and potentially spend time in jail.
- Public Intoxication—You could be charged with Public Intoxication if you were under the influence of alcohol in a public place, potentially placing others in harm’s way.
Is a Utah DUI a Misdemeanor or Felony?
Your Utah DUI could be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor, depending on the facts of your case. If this is your first DUI and there are no extenuating circumstances, you will likely be charged with a Class B Misdemeanor. If you have two prior DUI convictions within the past ten years, you will be charged with a felony. If you have any prior DUI that resulted in a felony conviction, then new DUI charges will be charged as a felony. A felony DUI conviction can result in a suspension of your driver’s license for up to two years, a minimum fine of $2,850, up to five years in jail, and a mandated ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle at your expense.
How Likely is Jail Time for a First DUI in Utah?
You could potentially be facing two to 180 days in jail for a first DUI in Utah. This is in addition to the 120-day license suspension and fines and fees that can exceed $1,000. If, however, your BAC is .16 or higher, the penalties for a first DUI will increase to serving at least five days in jail—or two days in jail plus 30 consecutive days of house arrest—along with the requirement of having an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.
How a West Jordan DUI Attorney from Conyers & Nix Can Help
Following DUI charges, you may be anxious about your future—with good reason. When you call attorneys Kate Conyers and Jesse Nix, we can often set your mind at ease once we know the facts of your arrest. While we cannot guarantee an outcome, we have been helping people in the same situation for many years. We never “throw in the towel” and accept the first offer from a prosecutor. We will fight for you every step of the way. Contact a West Jordan DUI attorney from Conyers & Nix today.