Utah DUI Overview
Utah’s DUI laws are some of the harshest in the United States. Utah’s legal limit is 0.05 BAC–the rest of the nation is 0.08 BAC (“Blood Alcohol Content”). If your BAC exceeds 0.16, you’ll serve mandatory jail—even for a first-time DUI. A second DUI conviction will result in 10 days of jail (or five days in jail plus 30 days of house arrest with an ankle monitor. A third DUI conviction requires you to serve 62.5 days in jail and possibly prison time (up to 5 years).
Your attorney may be able to have your DUI charges reduced to an “impaired driving” charge, which is an alcohol-related driving offense without the mandatory jail, license suspension, and fines that accompany a DUI. Your attorney must thoroughly examine police reports, body camera video, and witness statements to fight for a dismissal or a reduced charge.
Why Choose a Sandy DUI Attorney from Conyers & Nix?
Kate Conyers and Jesse Nix are never afraid of going to trial. Because of this, our clients often receive much better plea offers because prosecutors know we are willing to fight. We meticulously prepare for trial, never accepting the first offer because there is always room for negotiation. We will continue fighting until the prosecutor agrees to our terms, or we’ll take the case to trial.
We are honest with our clients and offer best-case and worst-case scenarios based on the totality of the situation, facts, and evidence. If this is your first DUI and you have a clean record otherwise, it is unlikely you will be sentenced to 180 days in jail. We’ll answer your questions about DUI investigations and your case when we meet with you. Then we’ll thoroughly investigate the evidence to see if the police officer made mistakes in the initial stop, violated your rights, or incorrectly administered any tests.
Our goal is to achieve the best outcome possible in your case. Both Kate and Jesse previously worked as public defenders. They have more experience, trials under their belts, and in-depth knowledge of prosecutors and judges than most attorneys. If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you need a highly skilled Sandy DUI attorney from Conyers & Nix. We promise to help you through this challenging time in the best way possible.
What Types of DUI Issues Can Conyers & Nix Handle
DUI is not the only type of alcohol-related issue you could be facing. If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you must also consider the issue of your driver’s license hearing with the Utah Driver License Division. You or your attorney must file a request for a hearing within ten days of receiving your citation, or your driver’s license will be automatically suspended starting 30 days after your arrest. If you file the request before the ten-day deadline, a hearing will occur within 30 days after your arrest. You should have legal representation at this hearing because an attorney knows what questions to ask and what answers to listen for.
Other alcohol-related offenses that Conyers & Nix attorneys can help you with include:
- Open container violations – If you are driving with an open container of alcohol in the passenger area of your car, you will be charged with a Class C misdemeanor.
- Public intoxication – This is charged if you unreasonably disturb people while intoxicated to the degree that could have endangered yourself or others. Public intoxication is a Class C misdemeanor.
- Minor in Possession – If you are over 18 but not yet 21, possessing alcohol could result in a suspension of your driver’s license and a charge of a Class B misdemeanor.
- Unlawful Sale or Furnishing Alcohol to Minor – Adults who purchase or give alcohol to minors could face class B misdemeanor charges resulting in thousands of dollars in fines and even jail time.
How Long Will a DUI Stay on My Record?
As with most states, a DUI will stay on your record in Utah for ten years. After ten years, if your DUI was a misdemeanor, you may apply to have the record expunged. If your DUI was a felony offense, it could not be expunged from your record. However, an experienced Sandy DUI attorney may be able to persuade a judge to approve a 402 reduction that reduces your felony DUI to a misdemeanor—thus making you eligible for expungement after ten years.
Will a DUI Ruin My Life?
A DUI conviction can undoubtedly cause you a considerable amount of adversity in your life, but it does not have to derail it altogether. A DUI conviction can negatively affect your ability to obtain employment and damage your professional relationships. You may lose your driving privileges, which can significantly alter your life. You could also spend time in jail and be ordered to pay thousands in fines and to complete evaluations and classes.
Your insurance rates will almost certainly increase—possibly to an unaffordable level. You may have to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle—at your expense. While these are all difficult issues to overcome, having a strong legal advocate in your corner from the beginning can significantly lessen the ultimate penalties of your DUI charges.
Hiring an Experienced Sandy DUI Attorney from Conyers & Nix
Facing DUI charges on your own is not something anyone should consider. Conyers & Nix attorneys provide professional, zealous advocacy and exceptional representation to achieve the best outcome possible. Attorneys Kate Conyers and Jesse Nix will help you through this process with empathy, respect, and experience. Contact Conyers & Nix today.